Crime Fiction

English Crime Fiction set in the North-West of England.


Inspector Walter Darriteau is a black detective based in Chester in the north-west of England.

He’s nearing retirement but not yet ready to be pensioned off. You can follow Walter Darriteau’s cases in David Carter’s murder mysteries that are all based in and around Chester, North Wales, and the Wirral.


For People Who Enjoy Murder Mysteries 


In “The Murder Diaries – Seven Times Over” a Lay Preacher is run down on the by-pass. A Right Reverend falls under the London express on the North Wales coastal line, and an old man drowns in the canal. Accident, suicide, or murder? Could it just be coincidence that three men die within a short period of time? 

Walter doesn’t believe in coincidences and is soon on the case, and when an old lady is found dead in Delamere forest, death by carbon monoxide poisoning but no abandoned car in the vicinity, Walter is convinced there is a serial killer at large. But what is the motive for these seemingly random killings?

Can he find the killer before he or she kills again, and in so doing Walter puts his own life at risk. “The Murder Diaries – Seven Times Over” is out now in paperback and as an ebook on Kindle.

If you’d like to read more about this book go here

If you’d like to read some reviews please go here

And if you’d like to read a substantial extract please go here



If You Are Looking for a British Based Police Thriller Then Look No Further!


“The Sound of Sirens” opens with a brutal and bloody murder. A young man enters a packed city centre pub last thing on a hot Friday night. He pulls a gun from his lightweight jacket and shoots dead the lead singer of the band before making his escape from the bar.

Walter Darriteau only lives locally and is soon on the scene, as is the chief crime reporter from the local newspaper, Gardenia Floem.

‘Is this a drugs related killing?’ she asks.

‘How the hell would I know!’ replies an annoyed Walter. ‘Get her out of here!’

But is it a drugs related killing? ponders Walter, as everyone over the ensuing days seems to believe. Walter isn’t so sure about that and is soon following various leads all over the city in an effort to apprehend the culprit.

And he isn’t to know that this is but the first of three equally horrendous deaths. It isn't long before he is under huge pressure from his boss, Mrs West, to solve the case. But can Walter do that before anyone else is killed?

“The Sound of Sirens” is out now in paperback and as an ebook on Kindle.

If you would like to read more about “the Sound of Sirens” please go here

If you would like to read the reviews on this book please go here

If you would like to read the first two chapters please click here



A Family Saga Murder Mystery


Zena Greylag travels to Greece alone. It is her last stab at freedom before her marriage to the commodity heir, Midge Ridge, but while on the island of Carsos she meets Nicoliades Emperikos, into who’s bar she has wandered.

He fills her with wine and invites her on a tour of the island, but at the top of the hill he opens the door to a house and invites her inside. Is this a good idea, she ponders, but what the heck, it is the last week of her three-week holiday as a single girl. What harm could it do?

Zena Greylag is about to find out.

So begins David Carter's “The Legal and the Illicit”, a murder mystery combined with a family saga that will keep you glued to its 450 plus pages.

Once back home she discovers she is pregnant, as Midge Ridge busies himself with wedding arrangements, but how does Zena tell him about exactly what happened?

Later in the book Walter Darriteau is charged with looking into the affairs of the Wirral-based Ridge dynasty and soon discovers that all is not as clean-cut as it should be. The family enjoys huge wealth and all the power that goes with it, but is that power always used for the greater good, as the Ridge family like to portray, or are there dark secrets lurking in the background?

“The Legal and the Illicit” is scheduled for release in the summer of 2014. It will be available in paperback and as an ebook on Kindle.

If you would like to read the first two chapters please go here


FREE ARCs (Advanced Reading Copies) of "The Legal and the Illicit"


If you would like to register for a free ARC (an Advanced Reading Copy) of "The Legal and the Illicit" before the book is released, with a view to writing an honest review on this book, please go here. 

FREE ARC supplies will be strictly limited so please register straight away if you are interested in this offer.

Ideally, reviews should be posted on Amazon and Goodreads.com once the book has been released.




Crime fiction, British crime fiction, English crime fiction, murder mysteries, thrillers, crime novels, British crime novels, English crime novels, Chester crime, Walter Darriteau, David Carter, Police fiction, Whodunnits, whodunits, mystery novels, murder fiction, murder novels, indy fiction, indy publishing, indy crime fiction, indie publishing, indie fiction, indie crime fiction, indy novels, indie novels, 



 and here's that link again if you would like a FREE ARC - Please Click here

or go here if you would like to return to the home page